a new journey

I am about to embark on a new journey.  A journey I never would have chosen for myself.  A journey that began in my heart about two years ago and one that will change the course of life as I have known it.  God is sending me on a mission.  He sends us all on a mission, but many never respond to His call.  I am thankful that such a change has occurred in my heart that I cannot refuse to respond.

During my first trip to Haiti in August of 2011, my eyes were opened to the extremely desperate situations that many people in our world experience each and every day.  It would seem that there is no hope, no joy, no peace, and nothing to look forward to for these people.  Quickly I realized that this is not so.  All of these things are possible through Jesus.  Many people in our world live in darkness, however; with Jesus, the light is impossible to extinguish.  That is what the people of Haiti taught me through the way they live their lives.

 After two more visits to Haiti, there was no doubt that I was being called to something greater.  Something more long term.  Something that would require me to leave behind a comfortable life for another with more eternal value.  A life that people question.  A life that requires less of me and more of Jesus.  A life dedicated to love: love for God and love for others.

 So why couldn’t I live this kind of life here in America?  Maybe I could, but that wouldn’t be the fulfillment of the purpose for this time in my life.  You see, world missions is not just one way we can serve, missions is the purpose of the church, to share the Love of Jesus with the world.  To take part in living the Truth among those who have not heard.  To grow along with those who have heard and believed.

 Jesus said: “Go, therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe everything I have commanded you.  And remember, I am with you always, to the end of the age.”  Matthew 28:19 – 20.

 He is with us when we GO.

 I waited for the right opportunity to GO.  Doors that opened in Haiti, eventually began to shut.  Then came an unexpected opportunity to serve in East Africa.  I thought I was sure that Haiti was where my life was headed, but I couldn’t turn away from an offer to visit Africa.  As it turns out, God is at work there in a big way.  The abundance of need in addition to the presence of deceptive religions and lies embraced as beliefs makes this area a land of opportunity to build relationships and love people

 For the next two years, I will be serving with Kissito Healthcare International, headquartered in Roanoke, VA.  Their goal is simply to save the lives of the vulnerable people in Uganda, Ethiopia, Somalia, South Sudan, and D.R. Congo.  I will be living and working in eastern Uganda, Kissitos base in Africa.   Relying on the Lords direction, I will be working to establish meaningful realationships with Ugandan churches and communities.  Those relationships will then develop into sustainable long term     partnerships between the communities in Uganda and churches here in America.

Not only is the leadership of Kissito committed to partnering with the African healthcare system to save lives now, they are committed to partnering with God to save lives for eternity.  It is a privilege to join in this mission of love.

 I’m learning that love is not just a bunch of words, love takes action.  My time in Africa will surely be a time of learning, growing, and loving.

 All of you that will be reading this are in different chapters, journeys, and places in life.  I believe that one thing we all want to know is the Truth, and one thing we all need more of is Love.  My hope is that this world will see that a changed heart and a changed life is living proof that Jesus is alive through those who believe in Him, and there’s no greater place to be than wherever He is.

One thought on “a new journey

Leave a Reply

